Hospital news

NAACOS Announces 2022 Board and Committee Members

January 18, 2022 – The National Association of ACOs (NAACOS) has announced its 2022 Board of Directors, as the organization grows in size and importance and responsible care becomes an increasingly essential part of how health care is paid for and delivered. The Board of Directors helps define NAACOS’ advocacy program and member services for all of its ACO and DCE members. Their work will be important as the Biden administration strives to implement its publicly stated goal of having all traditional Medicare beneficiaries in a care relationship with a provider who is accountable for their quality and total cost of care. by 2030. The 2022 Board consists of eight seats for single ACOs, six seats for organizations with multiple ACOs, one private paying ACO seat, and CEO, Clif Gaus. An election was held in the fall for two representative seats open to a single ACO and two representative seats open to multiple ACOs with the following result:

Sole ACO Representatives (three-year term):

  • Jen Moore, Maine Health ACO
  • Rebecca Rohrbach, NAMES ACO

Multi-ACO representatives (three-year term):

  • Travis Broome, Aledade (re-elected)
  • Emily Brower, Trinity Health (reelected)

The following directors have been appointed by the Board for 2022:

  • Past Chair: Rob Fields, Mount Sinai Health System
  • Chair: Debbie Welle-Powell, Essentia Health
  • President Elect: Tony Reed, ChristianaCare
  • Treasurer: Travis Broome, Aledade
  • Secretary: Emily Brower, Trinity Health
  • Member-at-large: Kim Kauffman, Best Value Healthcare

Permanent board members not listed above include: Tim Gronniger, Caravan Health; Melanie Matthews, MultiCare Connected Care and Doctors of Southwest Washington; Jamie Reedy, Summit Medical Group – New Jersey; Nina Taggart, Lehigh Valley Health; Anthony Valdes, Collaborative Health System; and Clif Gaus, President and CEO of NAACOS.

For more information and biographies of the 2022 NAACOS Board of Directors, please visit

NAACOS would also like to announce the new members of its 2022 Policy and Quality Committees. The NAACOS Policy Committee helps guide NAACOS’ advocacy program to improve the stability and long-term success of the accountable care model. Policy Committee members provide critical feedback to NAACOS on a variety of issues related to the Accountable Care Model, including policy changes, regulations, and legislation under review by the U.S. Department of Health and social services and Congress.

Travis Broome, Aledade, continues to serve as Chair and new committee members are:

  • Maria Alexander, Mount Sinai Health System
  • Kathy Harris, Health Banner
  • Mark Gwynne, UNC Health Alliance
  • Tom Kloos, Atlantic ACO and Optimus Healthcare Partners
  • Jessica Martensen, Essentia Health
  • Steven Miracle, Responsible Care Coalition of Georgia
  • Stephen Nuckolls, Coastal Carolina Quality Care
  • Kathy Parsons, CentraCare
  • Melissa Pollock, CHESS
  • Kelli Todd, UnityPoint Accountable Care
  • Spenser Weppler, OneCare Vermont ACO

The NAACOS Quality Committee is comprised of members of the Board of Directors and NAACOS members directly involved in the ACO’s quality improvement efforts. The committee assesses quality initiatives and requirements related to COAs and focuses on the role of quality in population-based payment models. Committee members help develop and guide NAACOS quality strategy relating to Medicare ACO models such as shared savings programs and other payers with ACO contracts.

Megan Reyna, Aurora Health attorney, continues to serve as chair, and new committee members are:

  • Paula Burleson, Novant Health
  • Rayna Caplan, Caravan Health
  • Aaron Clark, Ohio State Health ACO
  • Joshua Israel, Aledade

COAs are a market-based solution to help reduce the cost of healthcare expenditures, where groups of doctors, hospitals and other providers take responsibility for the total cost and quality of care for their patients. ACOs are incentivized to reduce costs by spending less than predetermined targets and achieving quality metrics, earning the right to share in the savings generated.

Post views: